Birth of a Publishing Empire

Friday July 14, 2006

My Google Adsense application has just been approved for my Digg Does Football site, which means that I can receive money for the advertisements on my site. Every long journey starts with a single step you know.

The sheer enormity of my commitment to look after my friends 6 year old over the weekend hit home this morning when she told me what I should have in the house. Milk? Breakfast cereal?! Fruit?!!!! Christ, what am I, Sainsburys?

Saw The Wind That Shakes The Barley last night. Alone. Tears streaming down my face. Very good, despite, as with all Ken Loach films, the political messages being hammered home constantly with zero subtleness. What Loach is generally good at though, and is particularly successful at here, is getting great performances from his cast. His films always have a feeling that they’re improvised, whether they are or not I don’t know, but when it works it gives his films a fantastic authenticity.

I went to see it at a cinema that was also showing ‘Over the Hedge‘. The signs were a bit too close together though, so I asked for a ticket to ‘The Wind That Shakes the Barley Over The Hedge’, which at the time I thought was a bit long for a film title but went with it anyway. Oh how they laughed.

Leave a Reply

