Top 5 Podcasts

Friday December 29, 2006

I’ve changed jobs (I know, I know). Fantastic move for me all round and 7 weeks in I’m loving it. Only downside is that my daily commute time has jumped from 10 minutes to 270 minutes. To combat the voices in my head that normally try to fill empty times like commuting I’ve started downloading podcasts again. Very into them. After ploughing through a lot of shit, here’s what I like:

Business Week – Cover Stories: released every Thursday. Interviews with writers and editors, usually about the Business Week’s current front page. Really good piece on Amazon’s expansion from the world’s biggest e-tailer to an e-commerce managed service provider. Weekly, ~15 mins.

This Week in the Economist: again, interviews relating to the latest edition of the magazine. Weekly, ~10 mins.

The Ricky Gervais Show: him and his two mates talking shite. A good gig if you can get it. Believe it or not, this is the world’s most popular podcast with over 8 million downloads. They charge for most of the podcasts, but being a cheap bastard I’ve only ever listened to the free ones which are released occasionally. ~40 mins

Wake Up To Money: this is a Radio 5 morning business news show. Daily, ~ 20 mins.

The Game: the best football podcast by a mile. This is a podcast from The Times Online hosted by Danny Kelly with interviews and panel discussions. It’s got the right amount balance of fun and discussion and always a really good international perspective. A must for a football nerd like myself. Weekly, ~ 40 mins.

I use iTunes, btw, to manage my podcasts. The iTunes software generally sucks, but its podcast functions work great. But I’m open to suggestions if there’s a better way to manage podcast subscriptions.

Leave a Reply

