Dirty, Nasty, Slimy, Kinky!

Thursday February 15, 2007

Is one of the most shocking lines I can remember in a film, delivered by the brilliant Michael Caine in Mona Lisa, which I just watched again for the 100th time. Mona Lisa has to be my favourite film of all time. Just about everything is perfect in this film

  • Bob Hoskins, as the hapless, besotted hero, hopelessly out of his depth
  • Michael Caine as the evil pimp
  • The script…so many memorable lines: ‘You can fuck me George, but you can’t fucking hit me’, ‘He’s a pimp. He’ll drive around in a Bentley and then go home to his bedsit with a paraffin heater.’
  • The soundtrack. Louis Armstrong’s songs bring a real melancholic air to the film, hinting that tragedy’s always just around the corner.
  • Hell, I’ll even defend the Phil Collins ‘In the Air Tonight’ segment.

According to IMDB, it’s being remade next year with the title ‘Shame’. What justification is there to remake a perfect film?

Update:  fool, fool.  whisht reminds me that the soundtrack, of course, is Nat King Cole’s, not Louis Armstrong’s.

